theonlinecitizen

a community of singaporeans

James Gomez gives TOC exclusive update

Posted by theonlinecitizen on May 3, 2008

James Gomez, an opposition candidate in the general elections in 2006, is in Singapore currently. TOC met up with him and asked him what he’s been up to.

Here is a short video.

————

15 Responses to “James Gomez gives TOC exclusive update”

  1. Logicalman said

    Hi TOC

    Thanks for the video. I would appreciate if a transcript of the speech can be posted for the benefit of hearing-impaired netizens for whom videos are practically useless unless there are subtitles and captioning.

    Sincerely, logicalman


  2. I hope Mr Gomez kept an eye out for Mas Selamat, hehehe….

    But I do wonder if he would be blamed for Mas Selamat’s disappearance as he was the most high-profile scapegoat the last time Singapore (ie. PAP) needed one to blame (ie. GE2006).

    On a serious note, it is nice to see Mr Gomez back to visit and I hope to see him return to some grassroots work soon.


  3. And if Mr Gomez is reading, during GE2006 I tried to obtain a copy of your Honours thesis from the NUS library and my proxy had to wait several days and make uncompromising demands before it was eventually released. We managed to make a copy of the thesis – an in-your-face critique of the local education system – and from that window to your mind, I must say that you were already an ‘opposition’ back then.

    Thank you for being a part of the opposition in Singapore that is highly credible and noteworthy…

  4. Zheng Xi said

    Hi Logicalman,

    Thank you for your feedback. TOC has just recruited a subtitler, we will be trying to incorporate his work in future videos.

  5. Janice Loo said

    How come TOC was given the chance to air an interview with James Gomez?

    James Gomez is an intelligent and shrewed politician.

    He is much too good for TOC.

  6. Gary Teoh said

    Mr Gomez, you should work harder, make your presence felt and get ready to fight and welcome the tsunami in 2010, not too far from now.

  7. The SS said

    Mr. Gomes
    The time is ripe.. you guys almost Won. Perhaps relook at the strategy as the PAP’s complacency will offer lots of opportunities in the next GE. We need more of you in parliament and it can’t be too soon!
    Go for it !!!!

  8. sarek_home said

    Hi Logicalman,

    Would you like to help and do the transcript. Just post it here as a comment.

    Thanks in advance.

  9. Logicalman said

    Hi Sarek_home,
    Logicalman himself is hearing-impaired and he happens to have a large network of hearing-impaired/deaf friends who are active netizens 🙂

  10. Daniel said

    Wow, the opposition party is really working hard to ensure a huge tidal wave in next election.

    It is unfortunate that Selamat’s case has quickly move on without conclusion, otherwise James Gomez is a perfect candidate in aiding COI investigation because he can investigate why all CCTVs are not working in security-tight detention centre but everything working perfectly in a public premise where he submit his form for election, and why the incident video can easily retrieve and put on mainstream media but totally none from detention centre, and finally help to uncover this episode of Uniquely Singapore.

  11. sarek_home said

    Hi Logicalman,

    Noted. I will try to post a transcript here tonight.

    Regards.

  12. Logicalman said

    Thanks Sarek_home. Take your time 😉

    Just a point to note that many deaf/hearing-impaired folks are early adopters of the web, as we do not have the luxury of tuning into TV or radio broadcasts. It would be good to have transcripts for videos that are relevant and significant, from a political and social standpoint.

    Thanks Zheng Xi, for the good news. My friends and I look forward to subtitling for future videos. Keep up the good work, TOC.

  13. sarek_home said

    Following is a transcript of James Gomez interview. I marked places with (?) where there is some uncertainty of the word used.

    ============================================================
    Hi, this is James Gomez. Many greetings to TOC readers.

    I want to inform you friends that I had an interesting two years at International IDEA in Stockholm, Sweden. My projects there dealt with 3 countries. They were Sudan, Columbia, and Nepal where I worked with political parties in post-conflict societies. Essentially, my job was doing research and training for political parties making the transition into a period of peace.

    I have since finished the project in Stockholm and effective 1st March, I have moved to Tokyo. I am now visiting scholar at the Department of Political Science at Kyoto University. I will be based there for the next month undertaking a project to set up an Asia Democracy Institute. The Japaneses are currently considering setting up a democracy promotion agency in Japan. This project based in Kyoto University is to provide some intellectual input into how such an institute could be set up.

    The Asia Democracy Institute project essentially is a regional project. It supposes to play a professional and supporting role for political NGOs in the region. Many political NGOs in the region are advocacy(?) groups. However, they do not have (?) support in terms of research, training and evaluation. So this can be seen as a think tank for NGOs. It is in early days, we hope to run a series of consultations and I hope to run a public consultation to get the Singapore input to this institute, hopefully in October.

    Because this is the development of a concept note(?), there is no programs at the moment. Essentially, we are mapping what are the democracy needs in the region, to find out what are the holes and we will then propose setting up an institute that could develop some programs. And because Asia is wide and democracy needs various(?), these programs will be implemented through partnerships.

    This May Day week I am in Singapore mainly because it was my mother’s birthday and also taking advantage of the May Day festivity to call in on a series of political friends. I had the opportunity this week to participate in a couple of political party public activities. I also have a chance to meet up with civil society activists, internet forumers, and academics. This intense one week of political networking reveals two things to me: youth and the internet are the upcoming political variables that will be very important to watch in the run up to the next general election in Singapore.

    I too have engaged (?) in the internet in the past. I will take this opportunity to Singapore to look into revamping my web site. Currently I have a Facebook account and jamesgomeznews.com web site. I am trying to integrate some of these features to a more streamlined blog that will incorporate elements of blog, Facebook, and Twitter and to see how that can help towards politics.

    I hope to make more frequent visits to Singapore starting October this year leading up to a eventual return to Singapore. I expect to remain engaged online in the internet but looking toward after October to be also involved in more offline activities on the ground.

    This afternoon I was at the WP Youth Forum and the topic was whether for the voting age during election should be lowered to 18. I think there were very interesting ideas thrown up all supporting revision of the lowering of voting age to 18. And I think this offers interesting view points to be taken on board on the next review of the WP manifesto.

    That’s all I have for you today, friends from TOC. Hopefully I will have a chance to say hello again next time, thank you.

  14. sarek_home said

    A transcript of the interview, (?) mark where the actual word is not certain.

    =========================================================

    Hi, this is James Gomez. Many greetings to TOC readers.

    I want to inform you friends that I had an interesting two years at International IDEA in Stockholm, Sweden. My projects there dealt with 3 countries. They were Sudan, Columbia, and Nepal where I worked with political parties in post-conflict societies. Essentially, my job was doing research and training for political parties making the transition into a period of peace.

    I have since finished the project in Stockholm and effective 1st March, I have moved to Tokyo. I am now visiting scholar at the Department of Political Science at Kyoto University. I will be based there for the next month undertaking a project to set up an Asia Democracy Institute. The Japaneses are currently considering setting up a democracy promotion agency in Japan. This project based in Kyoto University is to provide some intellectual input into how such an institute could be set up.

    The Asia Democracy Institute project essentially is a regional project. It supposes to play a professional and supporting role for political NGOs in the region. Many political NGOs in the region are advocacy(?) groups. However, they do not have (?) support in terms of research, training and evaluation. So this can be seen as a think tank for NGOs. It is in early days, we hope to run a series of consultations and I hope to run a public consultation to get the Singapore input to this institute, hopefully in October.

    Because this is the development of a concept note(?), there is no programs at the moment. Essentially, we are mapping what are the democracy needs in the region, to find out what are the holes and we will then propose setting up an institute that could develop some programs. And because Asia is wide and democracy needs various(?), these programs will be implemented through partnerships.

    This May Day week I am in Singapore mainly because it was my mother’s birthday and also taking advantage of the May Day festivity to call in on a series of political friends. I had the opportunity this week to participate in a couple of political party public activities. I also have a chance to meet up with civil society activists, internet forumers, and academics. This intense one week of political networking reveals two things to me: youth and the internet are the upcoming political variables that will be very important to watch in the run up to the next general election in Singapore.

    I too have engaged (?) in the internet in the past. I will take this opportunity to Singapore to look into revamping my web site. Currently I have a Facebook account and jamesgomeznews.com web site. I am trying to integrate some of these features to a more streamlined blog that will incorporate elements of blog, Facebook, and Twitter and to see how that can help towards politics.

    I hope to make more frequent visits to Singapore starting October this year leading up to a eventual return to Singapore. I expect to remain engaged online in the internet but looking toward after October to be also involved in more offline activities on the ground.

    This afternoon I was at the WP Youth Forum and the topic was whether for the voting age during election should be lowered to 18. I think there were very interesting ideas thrown up all supporting revision of the lowering of voting age to 18. And I think this offers interesting view points to be taken on board on the next review of the WP manifesto.

    That’s all I have for you today, friends from TOC. Hopefully I will have a chance to say hello again next time, thank you.

    Real people. Real questions. Real answers. Share what you know.

  15. sarek_home said

    Please take note that the line:

    Real people. Real questions. Real answers. Share what you know.

    at the end of the above transcript is added by accident in a cut-and-paste operation. It is not part of James Gomez’s interview.

    Sorry for the added line.

Leave a Reply

 
